Collecting Interest without a Judgement?

punky

Hello everyone,

I have been paying on a debt collection account since 2005. A JDB had bought a charged off credit card account of mine, and then found a local attorney that does debt collection. The account still had a year to go before it would outside of the SOL. I made an agreement with the attorney that I would pay 20.00 a month until the debt was paid. This was done without a judgement.

Just last week we asked for an accounting of what I paid so far, and it comes to about 800.00 because I have been paying since Sept 2005. I believe the original debt was around 1,600, however I would have to look at our money program for the exact details. Well we thought that since there was no judgement or paperwork that detailed attorney's fees or interest, that I agreed to pay, the 20.00 payment was going on the principle. We were told that I am paying interest also out of that 20.00, so I am not even close to paying this account off. I have been paying for over 3 years.

I wish I could make larger payments or just do a settlement with these people and pay it off, but I can't.

I would appreciate any thoughts or ideas someone could share on this.

Regards,

punky :)

Did you get anything in writing at the time you agreed to pay off this debt? If not, then it's a hard lesson to learn, but for what it's worth, I would never agree to any terms with any CA unless everything was put in writing. If they refuse to do that, then you can refuse to pay until they put the terms in writing.

Hi OMG,