HELP! Quick question about Discovery

How many of you know how often a judge might grant a motion in limine due to insufficient bill of particulars?

In California CCP 454 says that if the bill of particulars doesn't come back within ten days then one can move to exclude evidence within it. So that we did not appear to be obstructionists, we havent' filed the motion yet to give plaintiff time.

They sent us a bill of particulars unverified 13 days after the request. Then yesterday we got a faxed so called verification from an employee of plaintiff. The problem is that the verification wasn't attached to anything at all and the statements are vague. BTW yesterday marked the third week since our request was made and they received it.

Can anyone help me here? They filed suit in Feb and we filed our answer. At this point, they haven't sent us any discovery requests.

The law firm seems to be really sloppy but my fear is that since I am not a lawyer they may get us on some technicality.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

NASCAR thanks so much for responding. AT this point, I am unsure. The case management conference is in Mid May. There has not been a trial date set to my knowledge. I understand that we must fill out a case management form within the next two weeks or so.

What are your feelings about the insufficiency of the bill of particulars and verification? Am I making too big a deal out of their sloppiness or are these legitimate concerns?

I see that you don't live in CA, but have also noticed your expertise on many threads. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.

A bill of particulars is only meant to put some meat on the bones, but nothing more. You have to make more discovery. A motion in limine is premature. You wait until later to make one of those.