Accord and Satisfaction

There is one affirmative defense that I am having difficulty understanding. From some of my readings, most of the defendants were claiming Accord and Satisfaction as one of their affirmative defense. Here is an example:

“Defendant claims Accord and Satisfaction as Defendant alleges that the original creditor accepted payment from a third party for the alleged debt, or a portion of the alleged debt, or that the original creditor received other compensation in the form of monies and/or credits”.

However, as I was doing my research I found these (please see below). The Law does not state about a third party making payments. So why does almost everybody claiming Accord and Satisfaction as affirmative defense. One has to remember that the defendant bears the burden of proving it. The defendant did not make the payment, it was the third party. Somehow, this one does not click at all to me unless, somebody say something that will convince me otherwise. I am a newbie.

1) Copied from the court form:

Attachment 4 - AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSES

Check all boxes that apply to your case

• Accord and Satisfaction

You may use this defense if you and the plaintiff agreed to settle the claim for a lower amount than the lawsuit is asking for and you have paid the lower amount.

2) Copied from uslaw.com:

In contract law, accord and satisfaction is the purchase of the release from a debt obligation. The payment is typically less than what is owed and is not paid by the actual performance of the original obligation. The accord is the agreement to discharge the obligation and the satisfaction is the legal "consideration" which binds the parties to the agreement.

If a person is sued over an alleged debt they bear the burden of proving the affirmative defense of accord and satisfaction.