13 vs. Settlement - newbie here

nipomo

Hi all:

Been lurking for a bit, but need to jump in to get some advice.

We have nearly $80k in unsecured debt, own a home with a 1st & 2nd, and the house is (surprise) upside down on equity. Our monthly expenses are higher than our income because of our debt and we (duh) need to take action.

Our first move was to enter into a loan modification program - we're several months into that process. No results yet. For better or worse (probably the latter), and on the "unofficial" advice of those we're working with, we stopped making our 1st & 2nd payments. I love how the folks say 'we never advise you to stop paying,' then follow it up with how the lenders "won't help you fix what ain't broken."

Anyway, we bought into that and hope it works out. We simply don't know.

So, the next word of advice we're getting is to do debt settlement. We are current on all credit card payments, but really only because we're not making our home payments. We were on the verge of enrolling in a settlement program (we haven't, just in case anyone is skeptical), but are scared to death about stopping our cc payments, paying into a trust fund where we don't know if the money will be used for good-faith negotiation, and even more scared that if we settle, will the money we pay actually go towards debt?

Forums like this one and others pretty much are in unison that most settlement arrangements are scams. To that end, we haven't yet come across any business that seems to be reputable.

Now we're thinking about filing 13 instead. Our primary focus is to keep our home and cars, and we want to be as responsible as possible for paying back our debts in some manner. That said, 7 doesn't look unattractive but we don't want to lose the house.

We're getting ready to start researching BK attys in the area immediately, but I'd love to know what some of you think. Thanks in advance.