Just recived a summons

I just received a summons from Chase Legal Dept. I have done some archive research and still have a few questions. Thank you for your help in advance.

i)Does the answer to the Summons need to be served to the Plaintiffs? What is protocol here?

i)Chase is suing for Breach of Contract. I have two credit cards with them. However, I originally applied for these accounts with FIRST BANK. Chase acquired FIRST BANK in 2003 or so. Around that time I was informed by CHASE of a change to the TERMS OF MY AGREEMENT/CONTRACT that I had with FIRST BANK - I promptly closed the accounts. These accounts were closed in 2003 and there has been no activity on these accounts for 6 years. I have been making regular payments ON TIME for 6 years. Only till I became unemployed in 2008 have I had to let my accounts go delinquent.

Can I request a dismissal based on SOL? What would be a defense to get the case dismissed?

Thank You

Does the answer to the Summons need to be served to the Plaintiffs?

You can mail a copy to them.

Chase is suing for Breach of Contract.

Did they include a copy of the contract?

Can I request a dismissal based on SOL?

No, SOL clock started when you breached the contract.

Meerybucks,

Thank you for the reply~

They did NOT provide a copy of the contract with the summons. Also, they are claiming that I appiled for credit with them. This is NOT accurate - I applied for credit with FIRST BANK not CHASE.

Would attaching a copy of the suit be helpful? This is CA Superior court.

Thank You

So the Demurrer askes the judge to dismiss the case due to lack of evidence OR does it simply require the Plantiffs to provide evidence of the contract in question? Will the Plantiffs have to refile the complaint?

Additionally, they are suing on a second cause of action for OPEN BOOK ACCOUNT. Should I address this separately or will the Breach of Contract/lack of evidence/Demurrer invalidate the complaint?

Thank You