Collection Agency wants SIGNED AUTHORIZATION TO RELEASE MEDICAL INFO!!!!!!

Trixie

Hello To All,

I'm a newbie & this is my first post in this forum. I recently

sent a letter to a collection agency requesting validation of

a medical debt listed on my all my credit reports. The collection agency sent me a letter with the following :

Per your request, we have verified your debt with the following creditor (name) at (ADDRESS). They have informed us that the information contained in our files is accurate.

If you require a more detailed itemization of charges, please be advised that your itemization may

include personal health information, and we require a signed release to obtain those records.

Please complete the release below and fax it to our office at 614- XXX-XXXX. (Ohio)

AUTHORIZATION TO RELEASE INFORMATION

I hereby authorize (NAME OF CREDITOR) to release any and all information pertaining to the treatment referenced by (collection agency) (ACCT#) as the medical provider,in its sole discretion, may deem fit.

___________________________ Date

Patient, guarantor, or guardian

Collection Agency Name # 113

ACCT # XXXXXX

THIS IS AN ATTEMPT TO COLLECT A DEBT, ANY INFORMATION OBTAINED WILL BE USED FOR THAT PURPOSE.

So, are they serious ? I'm pretty sure I shouldn't sign this,

or is this the only way to get a validation ? Shouldn't they have all this info if they are reporting this legitimately ?

Thanks for your help !!

Hello To All,

I'm a newbie & this is my first post in this forum. I recently

sent a letter to a collection agency requesting validation of

a medical debt listed on my all my credit reports. The collection agency sent me a letter with the following :

Per your request, we have verified your debt with the following creditor (name) at (ADDRESS). They have informed us that the information contained in our files is accurate.

If you require a more detailed itemization of charges, please be advised that your itemization may