Want To Remove Paid Collection From Credit Report - Assistance Needed

Hegemon

Hello all. New to the forums. I have been reading this site non-stop for two days since finding it. What a great site!

Okay, to start:

Applied for a mortgage a little over 3 years ago. Everything was great except they said my credit report had a $1,000 medical bill that was in collections. That was news to me. I'm a stand up guy - I pay my bills, and I figured I owed it. I paid it so I could close on my house.

I checked my credit report a few days ago and it shows up on all 3 CRA's. It shows as paid/$0 balance, but it is still on there. I want to remove it completely from my reports.

From what I can tell from the site and forums, I need to do the following:

• Send a letter to each CRA
  • Send a letter to the CA

I'm new to this, but I've done my best to research. I'm looking for guidance from you all on if my letters are correct.

I was thinking of sending this same letter to both the CRA's and CA via certified mail:

To Whom it May Concern:

Joe Schmoe

SSN XXX-XX-XXXX

Address: 1 E. Any Street, Anytown, USA

(Current address for last 3 years)

DOB: 1/1/00

I've just reviewed my credit report and have noticed there is an inaccurate item on my report:

CENTRAL FINL CONTROL

Account no xxxxxxxxxx

This was to be deleted upon payment per agreement

Please remove this collection from my report immediately.

I have enclosed a copy of my driver's licence as proof of identity.

Sincerely,

Joe S.

Also, my credit report doesn't show the full account number. Don't know how that affects my requests as I won't be able to put down the full number in my letters.

Thanks in advance for the help.

In my experience, it's best to deal with the information furnisher (CA, in your case) and the CRAs one-at-a-time. Send that letter to the CRA, not the CA. If it's a small time medical bill CA, odds are pretty good that you'll get your deletion and that'll be the end of it.