Need advice about a problem with ATT

Ok here's a little background of my case:

I've had a 2 yr contract with ATT since 2006. Just last year of summer I've canceled my account.

Reason: I was out at sea for 4 months (I work as a merchant marine), when I broke my phone, so I wasn't able to use it for 3 months. I got off the ship and received my bills from them. I called and told them what had happened and they should waved the amount I didn't use the phone (I asked if it shows that I used the phone and the representative said I didn't use the phone those period I've mentioned). After I explained everything the representative denied my request, so I've decided to just cancel it. Being a dummy that I am I agreed to pay $200 cancellation fee when the contract had already expired a month before I got on the ship. I was told my balance was around $ 1,000 cancellation fee included. And they will forward it to the collection agency after 2 months from then if I don't pay. Two weeks after I received a letter of warning from a collection agency (west asset management) about my balance with ATT added to my total balance is $ 108.00 for the collection handling fee. By then I was panicking because it was so soon and I didn't have the amount to pay it off then. I start receiving phone calls from the agency everyday including Sundays a few times on weekdays but only once on weekends.

I talked to a representative and paid $100 then, and we set up a schedule for the fee, by then I informed them that I was unemployed and I need to get a job first to pay the whole thing off. So I told them to stop calling and sending me letters for now 'till I get the money. Well that didn't stop them, they kept on calling and sending me notices. Finally, a friend told me about hiring a lawyer from a pre-paid services. So I did, the lawyer said he can only send the agency a letter letting them know what I'd like to happen, but they'd still have to contact me to resolve this matter.