Is a DV letter even worth doing???

I am new to all this and received a letter from a law firm telling me that I have thirty days to dispute my debt. After the thirty they are going to file a claim.

So I paniced and started searching for answers which brought me here. At first I read a ton of postings that said people should send a DV letter and go from there, most likely they will not pursue it any further becuase it is hard for CA's to come up with proof I owe them.

Well I sent off a DV letter and now I started reading how people are saying a DV letter is a big waste of time anymore. After reading the FDCPA Section 809. Validation of debts - it seems all they really have to do is send a statment.

I have about 13 creditors and ALL of them have been charged off. I cannot make payments to resolve these debt because all the CA's want is one or two lump sum payments. Most if not all only have 3-4 years before the SOL runs out, so I don't know what to do?? Any thoughts? Is a DV letter just a waste? Thanks :)

How can a positive assertion of rights afforded to you under federal legislation ever be a waste of time? How can it harm you in any way at all?

It may or may not get you the result you desire. That depends upon hundreds of variables so no one can ever say for sure in advance what the outcome will be. Most of us have a fairly good idea however of how various firms react.

A VOD letter is not intended to make your debt go away or make you fireproof. It is merely laying the foundation for possible future events that may occur and placing you in a stronger position to deal with them.

You need to attack your situation by laying a firm foundation to build upon. You can not start with a roof and try to work down. The building collapses if you try to do that.