SoFaithful

What Should I Look for in a Buyer's Agent?

I'm buying a home. The loan is already approved.

The first agent I dealt with (I feel) was purposely steering me only to properties that were listed under him. I found a property I was very interested in (listed under another company). He seemed to make very little effort to find out key information about the property. In fact, he seemed irritated with my requests for information and kept suggesting that I 'just make an offer'.

I've never done this before. I'm I missing something here. Surely I should not make offers with little or no information about the property, most of which I learned conducting my own inquiries.

So, what should I look for in a buyer's agent?

I am a first time home buyer and I have been looking for a property for the last 3-4 months.

First, the Real Estate business can be extremely shady so I believe you should ask friends and family members if they know any Real Estate Agents. To me, if a friend or family member vouches for them, that really helps weed out the bad ones.

Second, I believe that you have to go with your gut instinct. When I started casually looking back in October, I was in contact with about 5 Real Estate Agents but I never really clicked with any of them. I happened upon my Real Estate Agent by accident as I was calling about a property I was interested in, the listing agent wasnt available and the Real Estate Agency put my eventual agent on the phone. John was very friendly, had alot of energy and was very knowledgable about Real Estate. Also, one of my big pet peeves is that the Real Estate Agent has to make his living selling houses. IMO, there is too much money involved in this for you to go with someone that only does this part time.