lolah

How many pre-approvals

How many pre-approvals shoud I get before deciding on a lender?

How many pre-approvals shoud I get before deciding on a lender?

The answer should be simple - who has the best terms, rates, and payments.

Years ago as a loan officer, I remember one borrower who contacted me for a quote on a purchase. We ran her credit, she had a good credit score. I gave her the price pricing I could get. She said she would get back to me.

Two months later she did. When we ran her credit, her score had significantly dropped, and she no longer qualified for the program I had offered her previously.

Point - you do no want to have your credit run too many times.

One thing you could do, get a copy of your credit report - black out your social, then you can go shopping for different lenders. That way your report is ran multiple times.

I read some where - the person that runs your credit, was required by law to send you a copy. I'm not sure if that is still valid. You can get your own report at freecreditreport,com or by contact one of the agencies below.

* Experian Credit Bureau (formerly TRW): 800-301-7195 (Cost: $8)

* Equifax Credit Bureau: 800-685-1111

* Trans Union: 800-916-8800

:)

is have the last person who run it, send you a copy

I recently had the same problem , where I wanted to shop around but each lender Loan officer, or bank would tell me they had to run my credit even though I had a recent credit report from each company EQ TU and EX . I finally gave in to wells fargo and they pre approved for 50k less then what I was pre qualified by another lender for and they helped drop my score with their inquire. I wonder if their really is something the future buyer could do to help these lenders allow the buyer to shop conservatively while not allowing these lenders to drop the buyers score.

I mean really I don't even care for wells fargos pre approval now . GRRRR