svb4jb

should I try to refi or miss mortgage payments

Hello everyone out there, I am a new and nervous forum user! I am in the state of Nevada and struggling to keep my mortgage current. Our mortgage is with IndyMac, now OBW, fixed at 6.85%. We do not qualify for the loan modifications according to terms at government website. Our mortgage is 29% of gross income. What are people doing who are a little upside down in house AND are making current payments? Is there a possibility of refinancing? I believe we owe 300k and value is about 280K. do we have a chance or do we gamble and miss payments to see if they will renegotiate our loan terms? We haven't had any major hits financially, but lessened hours and maternity leave have taken enough of a hit to hurt us monthly! Help, we're stretched to the max!

Edited by svb4jb
not, instead of now

Sorry, not a mortgage expert (wait a minute - I'm not an anything expert, lol)but thought I'd give you a *bump* and a welcome! :D

Hopefully Denita will be by soon, she may have an answer for you.

Find someone REPUTABLE to assist you. I tried and tried to work out a loan mod with my mortgage servicing company after struggling for a few years. I also heard of countless stories about people saying that servicers were unwilling to work with them unless they were behind on their payments. What a gamble! Well, I decided to skip one payment (only one) to see if they would work with me. I also found a reputable agent to assist me. Fortunately for me it was a winning combination. My house payment was reduced by $640 per month permanently. No trial period, and no five year plan either. It is for the remainder of the loan.

Try subscribing to the following for up to date information. It is extremely helpful: http://www.mortgagenewsdaily.com/

Best wishes!