WILLY

BK7 vs. Homeownership

My wife and I filed chapter 7 approximately a year ago. What type of home loan could we be eligible for? After 2 years from discharge, can we purchase a home without much trouble? We owned a home during the discharge but were able to keep it and then sell after the discharge date and pocket the proceeds. Would this help? HELP!!

My wife and I filed chapter 7 approximately a year ago. What type of home loan could we be eligible for? After 2 years from discharge, can we purchase a home without much trouble? We owned a home during the discharge but were able to keep it and then sell after the discharge date and pocket the proceeds. Would this help? HELP!!

Hi Willy

I was a loan officer for 10 years - you do not have to wait 2 years to refinance after a chapter 7 discharge, those are for fannie mae loans. You can refinance a chapter 7 a day after discharge.

A chapter 13 can be refinanced before discharge since it's on a payment plan for 3-5 years from filing date. You can get a chapter 13 refinance as little as 12 months from filing, not discharge and you can payoff your chapter 13 in the process if you have enough equity in your home. I remember I wrote several loans paying off open chap 13's.

You may be able to get a mortgage sooner, but your terms (i.e. interest rate, etc.) will not be as attractive as it would be if you can wait 2 years. Considering that you'll be paying that interest for up to 30 years, it definitely saves you a lot of money if you can wait long enough after the discharge to get a good interest rate.

One thing you should do is get a copy of your tri merge credit record (one that shows your scores). Review it for any mistakes you can disbute off. Since you are in a chapter 7 now, use this time to rebuild your credit.

On your installment debt (home, car, etc). Send extra with your normal month payment, after several months you are reported as being more responsible and your score can go up.

Good Luck

:)