kingair41

Cleaning up wifes credit.

I'm new to this credit cleanup process.

I'm now in the process of pulling my wifes credit reports with the 3 CRA's and have a couple of questions at present.

She had applied for a credit card at a retailer recently and received a rejection notice in the mail. What was cited was to many delinquent accounts, account balance to limit to high.

Now I've known her for 14 years and lived with her for the last 10 of those years. While she was with her ex-husband, prior to the 14 years, they had some financial difficulties, meaning utilities where not paid. She has no credit cards presently nor previously did she have any credit cards in her name. But even if she did have a credit card that she defaulted on it was 14 + years ago that that would have happened.

If the charge offs are removed after 7 years, why would it still show up in the rejection letter that we received recently. Remember I've been with her past the 7 year limit and I know she has not been paying on any past accounts, nor have we received any dunning letters or such from any CA's or OC looking for her. Her ex on the other hand I don't know for sure if they have been after him.

It would make sense that after 7 years the delinquencies would have been history.

After 14 years of inactivity on her credit scores it should be like starting over.

Am I missing something?

Her credit probably isn't that bad then. Does she have any established credit that she's been paying on at all? She might want to get a secured card if she doesn't to establish a history. I think you can probably get those negs whacked pretty easily of they're that old.

Yep thanks, pulling them now and will review. Just seems odd even before I get the copies that the negatives are still there after all these years.

Thanks for your inputs.