Questions regarding credit card lawsuit process

I am a recent graduate who is being sued by Citibank(via Zakheim & Associates) in sunny Florida and due a part-time income am defending Pro Se. If anyone would care to answer a few questions regarding the process it would be greatly appreciated. They are as follows:

1. Once you are summoned, I would assume any negotiation with the Plantiff's lawyer would probably be in vain as they are after a Judgement or possibly a settlement during mediation?

2. Once your response to the summons is filed with the court and send a copy to the Plantiff's lawyer. Would it be to a good idea to request a Debt Validation from the Plantiff/Plantiffs attorney?

3. At anytime before your are summoned to appear in court, if a debt validation has not been responded to or has been ignored, are you required to discuss settlement terms with the Plantiff and Mediator?

4. Is there a legimate way to have the case dismissed if your are within the SOL, have been unable to negotiate/work out a payment plan and the Plantiff's attorney has been retained by Citibank?

5. If you are willing to work out a payment plan, is it likely a judgement will be issued against you? When is a judgement issued?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

1. Once you are summoned, I would assume any negotiation with the Plantiff's lawyer would probably be in vain as they are after a Judgement or possibly a settlement during mediation?

Not at all. Many lawyers file lawsuits with the hope that it will inspire debtors to contact them about a settlement. If an agreement can be reached, the lawyer gets money without the effort of proceeding to court; the debtor may be able to avoid having a judgment on his/her credit report. From one perspective, this is a win-win scenario.

2. Once your response to the summons is filed with the court and send a copy to the Plantiff's lawyer. Would it be to a good idea to request a Debt Validation from the Plantiff/Plantiffs attorney?