Midland Is Trying To Serve Me... Now What?

Hello,

Today I was informed by a neighbor that a process server was looking for me. I’m pretty sure the summons is from Midland. I wanted to ask the forum what they think my next move should be. I’m a California resident

Should I wait for him to return and accept it?

If I accept it I planned on following the advice at the following link to respond. Is that a good idea?

creditinfocenter.com/legal/ive-been-sued.shtml

Do I file a discovery with the answer or do I wait? I’m unable to find this information for California.

Thanking you in advance for any and all help.

You could probably call up the sheriff's office and set up a time. With service you never know what it could be until you see the summons. What I thought was service for a debt once was really a subpoena to be available for the DA as a witness to a crime that was going to trial.

Are you able to look online at the court docket to see what cases have been filed? I live in FL and was able to see the complaint before they served me. I got scared when the process server almost broke the window of my front door by pounding so hard so I took my dog and hid in the bathroom. My husband accepted service the next day. If you can search the docket by your name see if you can see the complaint. At least that way you'll have a head start on what to do. The people on this board are amazing and you will have everything you need to fight off the dirtbags!! Good luck and try not to stress out over it (I should follow my own advice. LOL)

Avoiding service isn't a good idea, let them serve you and do what makes sense after you review the complaint.