Are BK 7 and 13 payment plans available?

BrokeIn2011

I am new to BK. Upon reading various forums and websites about BK, I was under the impression that you have to pay a sizable fee to retain a lawyer in order to get the BK started.

Yet since about 10 of my credit card bills are about 10 months past due, some of my accounts have been turned over to collection agencies. So I have been getting a steady stream of collection calls and letters when I roughly became 2 months past due. Though I owe around $100,000 in credit card bills, but no lawsuits thus far.

Yet I know that I must consider BK, since I have no other options, since I have had a chance to think about my financial situation over the past 10 months. Yet I am not sure if I will go with a 7 or 13. So needless to say, the bottom feeder help companies are sending me junk mail (right and left) regarding debt settlement and BK. Upon reading one of the pamphlets from a BK lawyer that arrived in the mail on Saturday, I see that this lawyer is offering a payment plan to do a BK 13. Again, I thought the norm was that you had to provide a lawyer a sizeable retainer in order to start the process (i.e. pay the lawyer enough money to field the collection calls and start the BK paperwork). At this point, I really want to get a lawyer, yet I just do not have a large amount saved, but I am more than ready to start answering my phone again and start telling my creditors to call my lawyer, since I am filing BK. Yet I did get advice to always pick my own lawyer and never to deal with the bottom feeder companies offering help (via the junk mail they send to me), since they had to stoop low in order find out my financial troubles to begin with.