Settlement... as "final payment" Really??

Hi

Last week I received a settlement offer from attorney as follows:

COMMENTS PLEASE.......

"The current balance due is 16,000. In an effort to settle this matter and LIMIT further collection actions our client has authorized our firm to extend a settlement offer to you.

... our client Blubber Bank will accept a lump sum of 4,000.00 as a SETTLEMENT AND FINAL PAYMENT of your current obligation."

Will this language prevent all further actions or can they sell the balance (12,000.00) and have another company start dunning me.

Thanks.....

I have little experience in actually executing a settlement so take this for what it's worth: ::tp::

While settling for around 33% is nice, I'd wonder if there is any additional wiggle room. (EDIT: Yeah so it's 25% of the alleged balance due and not 33 and a third. :oops: DUH! I later noticed I misread the 12,000 balance part. I missed the part where said it was 16,000. I CAN do basic math..I promise :lol:)

Before I forked over 4 grand I would want to make SURE I have some very specific lingo worked up to protect me against any future issues. I'd also be a little more likely to pay an attorney a few hundred bucks to look over or draft a settlement agreement. I would definitely want to make sure I limited their ability to sell or otherwise transfer it to someone else.

You could always try telling them you are interested in the settlement offer and have them fax/mail you a settlement agreement. That would give you a starting point to make revisions to or take to an attorney. Of course their first draft would be most beneficial to them.

Edited by SingleDadJames

Hi

Last week I received a settlement offer from attorney as follows:

COMMENTS PLEASE.......

"The current balance due is 16,000. In an effort to settle this matter and LIMIT further collection actions our client has authorized our firm to extend a settlement offer to you.