ATT MOBILITY/EOS CCA on credit after 10 years

wkinney1

I noticed this on my credit bureau and yes, from 10 years ago i owe ATT mobility a debt that obviously was picked up by a Junk debt collector, EOC SSA is the company out of MASS. and they recieved a call from me and are telling me they dont have anything tying me to them by my social security number. They were VERY rude and said that they do not make errors but want me to prove to them its on my credit by faxing my credit history. After talking to them about this they still will not remove my collection account on my credit. they said if its on my credit i owe them, but they have no account number under my social, now get this i owe them 980!!!!!!!!! WOW how can i get this off? and do i have a lawsuit? man from Alabama.

Now keep in mind I am no lawyer I am just giving you my opinion on this.

1) If it is infact debt is 10 years old you are out of statute of limitations. Further its against the law to put a debt up on someone credit report that is past 7 years on default. (If default the right word im a bit blond today.)

2) Never give collectors information, it is their job to prove it to you not the other way around.

Now how to proceed I am not 100% sure , Id email budd hibbs on this or wait for someone else with advice on it.

Just seeing you post been here for a way I figure I would give you that good news =).

What I would do is dispute the debt with the company you called. I would do this in writing and as outlined in the FCRA. I would include a limited C&D with the language, all calls to you are invconvenent (yes use that word).

I would also dispute it directly with the credit reporting agency, in writing. Also everything needs to be sent certified mail return receipt requested (CMRRR).

I would not send them a copy of your credit report. It's their job to verify if you dispute properly.