being sued by Midland Funding CA

helpme

Hello,

I'm a newbie at all of this. I just got served a summons today and I stumbled on this forum and searched and read everything I can find regarding Midland Funding and cases with them in California.

This is what I received:

-Civil Case Cover Sheet: Being sued by Midland Funding LLC, in the amount of $9900.00.

-Complaint Contract the original Creditor is: Citibank (for which I ran a credit report with the 3 reporting agencies and found no Citibank account).

-First Cause of Action - Common Counts for which it states: this was within the last 4 yrs, the account was stated in writing by and between plaintiff and defendant in which it was agreed that defendant was indebted to plaintiff ( I signed no such thing)

-statement of Location/Venue

-ADR Information Packet/form

The papers were served to me at my home in CA and I received no prior correspondence from Midland (well not sure, if it looked like junk mail it got disposed) and the summons says I have 30 days to respond to this summons. The summons is dated Oct 11, 2011 and I received the summons today Oct 14. It's a limited Civil Case trying to collect a debt.

So what are the steps I need to take to respond to these allegation? Is there a specific form I fill out denying these allegations? How do I get the lawyers representing Midland to provide all the documents I signed and statements that states what I supposedly purchased?

Thank You for any/all advice in this late hour in California.

Edited by helpme

• Replies 113
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If all they are alleging is account stated then you have to answer.

If they have causes for goods and wares recieved or money lent. or open book account then find CAlawyers very fine Bill of Particulars on here they are in like 100 posts. fill it out and send it to them Certified Mail Return Receipt Requested.