My financial FIASCO

jbmex3

Ok I will lay it all out there. I stopped paying on my credit cards in April of this year. I have been collecting unemployment for 2 years and my wife works and makes good money so household bills get paid. I can't file for bankruptcy because I have over 100K in equity in my house and they would probably make me sell it. Here are my debts:

BofA 35K

Dis 15K

Amex 3500

Citi 29K

Citi 7500

I've been sending the DV letters but I doubt they would let this much money go without suing me. I don't know how much time I have but i want to be ready. Should I safely assume they will all sue me. What kind of defense can i have and what can i do?

It they sue you and get a judgement, they could make you sell your home anyways to use the equity to pay off the judgment. It depends on state law. If you wife is co-signer on these accounts OR if Alabama is a community property state, they could garnish her wages to settle the account.

You could fight but I would find a way to way on these accounts.

I'm new here but I think think with balances that high they are going to come after you pretty aggressively.

How about Chapter 13 BK? The court trustee figures out your disposible income and comes up with a repayment plan that you can afford. You make that payment for 3 or 5 years and you are done so whatever remains unpaid gets wiped out. Not ideal but you get to keep the house.

There are lots of folks here that have been in the same position so maybe they will come up with a better idea.

Ok I will lay it all out there. I stopped paying on my credit cards in April of this year. I have been collecting unemployment for 2 years and my wife works and makes good money so household bills get paid. I can't file for bankruptcy because I have over 100K in equity in my house and they would probably make me sell it. Here are my debts:

BofA 35K

Dis 15K

Amex 3500

Citi 29K

Citi 7500