Sued by Discover/Kirschenbaum & Phillips

jg2933

I need advice,

I am being sued by Discover through Kirschenbaum & Phillips. Discover is named as a Plaintiff. They are suing for $2600. I had this card for a while and I couldn't pay anymore at one point. They have been calling me threatening lawsuit and I finally agreed to pay $50/month to avoid that. So I've been paying for 12 months, and then suddenly the payments stopped (it was automatic withdrawal). I didn't even notice until a few months later this law firm started sending me letters.

I sent them a DV letter and never got any response. Fast forward several months later and I just got a letter from some law firm advertising their services, saying they got my name as a defendant in a lawsuit. I went online and looked it up and there was a case filed a month ago! I never got any mail and I wasn't served at all. I showed up in the courthouse and answered the complaint. I figure they just wanted a default judgment against me.

Anyway, I got a court date and I'm going to ask for proof of debt, etc. I know the card is mine, but I honestly don't recognize the amount and have no idea if the money I've been paying for the past 12 months has been accounted for. I was acting in good faith, making payments! I have no idea why they decided to stop them and then sued me.

Also, can I ask to exercise arbitration clause? I haven't been provided with my agreement, but I'm assuming there was one. Should I wait after the judge compels the Plaintiff to give me those documents? I know people say to deny you owe that card, but how??? I have records that I've been paying that debt, so I can't use them if I deny it. I guess I want them to give me documents as to what I owe vs what I already paid. I have no idea how the amount they want was calculated.