shelbee

being sued by GCFS; answered complaint..next step??

Hi everyone!

I was recently sent a complaint by Greater California Financial Services aka GCFS, Inc. after viewing some of your posts here, I was able to submit an "Answer" just days ago ( on the 30 day mark). As a newbie, I am looking for guidance and direction for each step that I must take to win this case! Ive been reading the threads for the last few nights and my eyes are ready to burst!:shock: What I would like to know is what is the exact protocol that follows the filing of my "Answer" to the complaint. I have read about Discovery and a Bill of Particulars etc. If someone can point me in the right direction, I d be happy to read up on a thread that may have a similar situation. I so appreciate everyone that takes time out of their day to help others. Thank you all in advance for your unselfishness!

God bless,

Shelbee xdancex

:)++ Benvenuto!

There are several well read CA people here who will chime in very soon for you. But I have been reading that CA people seem to like to do a BOP (Bill of Particulars). Have you read up on that?? You might want to search the board here and start learning about it if you have not.

GCFS appears to be a collection agency...that being said, is this a consumer or business debt?

Consider sending them a bill of particulars (CCP 454) - that should stump them.

Thank you both! I will check out the BOP. It may or may not be a business debt. I was a sole proprietor and did have a few CC's. I will check on that. Do the laws change if it was for business debt? Does one send a BOP before request for discovery or simultaneously??? Thank you again!!

Business debt is different - the FDCPA does not apply.

As far as the BOP, I'd send it after answering the complaint.