Howto respond to complaint (Being Sued in NJ)

Neophyte

I am a NJ resident, in late Nov I was issued a civil action against myself for the amount totaling just under $1,500.

I am going to defend myself in this matter.

My question what should I be writing in my "Answer" to the complaint?

1. Who is the named plaintiff in the suit?

Pressler & Pressler

2. What is the name of the law firm handling the suit? (should be listed at the top of the complaint.)

Pressler & Pressler

3. How much are you being sued for?

$1,500

4. Who is the original creditor? (if not the Plaintiff)

CITIBANK

5. How do you know you are being sued? (You were served, right?)

Served

6. How were you served? (Mail, In person, Notice on door)

Mail (Certified)

7. Was the service legal as required by your state?

Not Sure

8. What was your correspondence (if any) with the people suing you before you think you were being sued?

None

9. What state and county do you live in?

NJ

10. When is the last time you paid on this account? (looking to establish if you are outside of the statute of limitations)

07-08 time frame

http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/prose/10554_ans_cmplt.pdf

Here's the kit. Fill it out and submit it to the court within the proper time frame. Send a copy to opposing counsel. You may want to file an appearance form with the court. That tells them you are defending yourself. Here's that one:

http://www.nj.gov/oag/dcr/downloads/notice_of_appearance%20form.pdf

Is this when I ask for proof?

Proof that the amount demanded in the lawsuit is correct.

Proof that the debt is Defendant's

Proof that the plaintiff has the right to sue you.

Nope, that's discovery, that comes after you submit your answer to the court. My suggestion is send your discovery out right after they receive your answer. Discovery goes to the Plaintiffs lawyers only, not to the court and in Jersey you can only ask 5 questions, so make 'em count...