Pre Approved Auto Loan

So my girlfriend is buying her first car soon and i was doing some research for her on the vehicle a 2009 Honda Accord LX-P. All the sites said that i should get pre-approved for a car loan first so when i walk into the dealer less games will be played.

I kinda ran into a wall and can not find the answer anywhere. I am also new to the car buying world so this may be an easy question that is why i cant find an answer for it.

I was going to apply online at autocreditexpress.com to get her financing because she has basically no credit at all, i applied on up2drive.com and she was denied it said her credit score was 230 (not sure how when credit scores are based on 250-900) but after doing research autocreditexpress claims they finance people with no or bad credit.

The car she wants we will most likely be negotiate to $14,000 and she can be approved up to 15K. And we will try to get at least $1,500 for her old car. Which will make the total cost $12,500,

My question is as follows:

If she is approved for the $15,000 and the car does cost $14,000 i can just fill in the check for that amount (i think) but would i be required to leave a down payment with the dealer or does the pre approval include everything and i would just negotiate the total cost fo the car and the trade-in value?

Also has anybody hear ever used autocreditexpress before? i know they are in the BBB but would liek a personal experience with dealing with them if you have before.

IMO this is not the place to get an auto or an auto loan. They are already setting you up for some huge interest rate by saying she has a score of 230! This type of dealer is looking for a consumer with bad credit that is so desperate they will take their loans that are designed to take advantange of the consumer. The rates are high and generally the vehicles are of low quality. Don't do it.