Process of Discovery

So I've been reading Indiana Civil Rules. I see the methods that may be used in discovery etc. However, I am confused as to one thing.

Do I request Discovery and then separately file the interrogatories

or

Do I just do the interrogatories without requesting Discovery as it is the next natural process?

I think Motion to Compel is when you've already sent them something and they haven't answered, whereas I'm just beginning the process and haven't sent anything out.

I think what the below is saying is that you can't file for discovery if under Rule 26c (a protective order) is put in motion. Other than that I don't know basically if I just start the interrogatories and file them or if I have to be granted the right to a discovery phase......so confusing. Any help is appreciated. You guys are very helpful for someone who doesn't know much in regards to this legal stuff. :?

(E) Filing.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (2) hereof, all pleadings and papers subsequent to the complaint which are required to be served upon a party shall be filed with the Court either before service or within a reasonable period of time thereafter.

(2) No deposition or request for discovery or response thereto under Trial Rules 27, 30, 31, 33, 34 or 36 shall be filed with the Court unless:

(a) A motion is filed pursuant to Trial Rule 26© or Trial Rule 37 and the original deposition or request for discovery or response thereto is necessary to enable the Court to rule; or

(B) A party desires to use the deposition or request for discovery or response thereto for evidentiary purposes at trial or in connection with a motion, and the Court, either upon its own motion or that of any party, or as a part of any pre-trial order, orders the filing of the original.

(3) Custody of original and Period of Retention: