Difference between JDB and CA

Hello, I am new at this, and forgive me if I was to start a new thread on this, but I am trying to find an answer using search...and it's not coming up.

My question is somewhat related to this thread, although it's mine, and not the thread starter's..so my apology in advance.

Question:

what IS the difference between a junk debt buyer and a collection agency?

I have 5 different entries from American Capital Enterprises (which I googled and it came up as collection agency)

I have no idea who the original creditor was on any of these items (negligible as they are) and I hesitate in calling them for fear of initiating something..the date of which they report is '08. I have not used credit in over 10 years, and this would be a clear debt from way before '08.(I crashed and burned in '02, and from then on, did not initiate any credit debt since) I'm thinking they aquired this in '08 and reported it to the CRA's as new...however, I can't even figure out what these debts are!?

If in fact this is a JDB (although their name does not appear on the JDB list here) then I know for a fact they did some re-aging, and therefore, am thinking to send a request of validation?

If they are just a collection agency- does that mean the dates are accurate because they are collecting on behalf of the OC?

I hope this is not an aggrevating question....and I do apologize if it is lame...but, I'm trying desparately to understand the basics. :(

thank you so much.

I moved your post over here so you'd have your own thread...

Junk Debt Buyers (JDBs) by the "rights" to collect on defaulted debts for pennies on the dollar from Original Creditors (OCs).

Collection Agencies (CAs) handle the debtor hassling for either an OC or JDB. CAs don't buy debts, and seldom have the legal authority to speak on behalf of the debts owner.