Is this signature fraudulent?

1moreX

I received a letter from a debt collector claiming that their firm is the attorney for Capital One. This letter was signed by a particular attorney in this firm.

During discovery I received several documents signed by this particular attorney, including a "Declaration of Responding Party" that states:

"I declare under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State Oregon that I am an attorney for Capital One Bank (USA) N.A., and am authorized to make the foregoing answers. I declare that I have read the foregoing answers, know the contents thereof, and believe them to be true and correct."

But the signature on this document and others doesn't match the signature in the very first letter I received from this attorney. The printed names are the same, but the signatures above them are completely different in two of the documents. I know that people's signature vary a little, but these signatures are totally different from each other!

I'm not sure if the OC is suing through these debt collects, or if all this is one big fraudulent game! I feel something's not right because of certain discrepancies like this signature thing.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks

Since no one else has given it a shot, I'll give it a go.

I noticed something similar in my wife's paperwork: sometimes the lawyer's signature looked one way, sometimes another way (if you can call a scrawl a signature.)

I suspect that what's going on is these bottom dwelling lawyers are doing a high volume business, and they're churning out tons of paperwork, so they've got underlings signing some documents for them, but maybe only the least important ones.