Lender went bankrupt and now I can't find my loan!

chicadelcaribe

I have a loan from My Rich Uncle from 2006 when I was an undergrad. I went right from undergrad to graduate school and I think I recall getting it deferred in early 2009 when I signed up for grad school. I am assuming I did that before they went bankrupt with MRU Holdings in 2009 but I'm not sure.

I just graduated my graduate program in May of 2011. A few days ago my fiance and I met with a mortgage lender to get pre-approved to buy a house; on my credit the loan from MRU Holdings came up.

It says "MRU Holdings" and my balance is about $9000. They reported a missed payment 1/12 and 2/12. My lender told me to fix this ASAP; call them up, pay the two month's payments I had missed, and try to get them to remove the negative things from my credit.

I was totally OK with doing this; I never received any bills in the mail from them (maybe because I have moved twice since 2006) but I cannot find where my loan is! MRU Holdings went bankrupt and has no contact information. I called Equifax and the guy on the phone told me they have no contact info on file for them either. He told me my only option was to dispute the report and then when they report me for missing March they can figure out where it is. Honestly I totally forgot about this loan completely until it turned up on my credit!

However, my lender told me that putting in a dispute will look really bad when I go to get a mortgage, and we already barely qualify for FHA and USDA loans. Is there any other way to find out where my loan is? I took out the loan obviously and will glady pay it if I knew where it was and who I needed to pay! Also, there is a co-payer on that loan (my mom) who is also trying to buy a house, so I'm assuming this is wrecking her credit too.

Any suggestions? :|

I agree with 1stStep. The best course of action here would be to dispute the mark. It will do one of two things for you: