OC not obligated to respond to 623 dispute?

BigJT

I spoke with someone today who works for a credit attorney (he himself is not an attorney), and he told me that OCs are not obligated to respond to 623 disputes if they are reporting the account as transferred to another lender on the credit reports.

I can find no such distinction in the FCRA. Has anyone else heard this?

I've never heard of that either. The FCRA makes references to furnishers. Even though the OC sold the account and is no longer updating, they furnished the information for their entry while they did own the account. Ask your friend for the specific section of the FCRA that supports his claim.

I'm a newbie or sorts, but have been considering using a 623 myself. This thread got me curious so I went and started to search to see what I could find out to either prove or disprove the OP's friends comment.

What I have found out on this site (see 623 Letter at the top of any page here on CIC) is that you must dispute the listing with the CB's *first* before you send the OC's a 623. That is key and is reasoned here:

FCRA § 623. © means is that if you dispute with the original creditors first, without having disputing through the credit bureaus, and they refuse to answer you, or provide you with proof, yes, they are in violation of the FCRA, but you as a private citizen cannot take them to court and sue them; only your state authorities (like your state attorney general) or federal authorities (like the FTC) can sue them.