New and attempting a start

Tuxman11

Hello all, I am new to all this and have a interesting predicament. I am starting the credit repair process, and please let me know if I am doing this right. I have ordered all 3 of my credit reports, I realize that I do owe all this money. Not much mind you, but enough to dent. My currents scores are as follows.

Transunion: 526

Experian: 541

Equifax: 467

Yea I know its horrible. However I want to pay these debts off. But have them removed from my credit. I have read the posts here, but I see conflicting answers on a lot of topics. My intent in this post is to get definitive answers on what to do next. I did call a collection agency today to simply get a address from which to send my verification letter, then got into a debate about paying now, or at least a $200.00 deposit as a matter of good faith. Well needless to say I didnt do it. Thanks to these forums I recently read, I avoided that bullet. Now the thing is I want to pay them off, but considering, and lets be honest, I dont want to pay the full amount on these amounts owed. My first step if I have this right is to write all of my creditors to request them to validate what I owe. I am printing my letters as I type. LOL! I just want to be sure this is the proper order that all of you have done. Then at that point offer a settlement??? Please let me know that I am doing this right.

Thanks for all your help

Original creditors are not obligated to respond to a DV request. You can send a DV to a CA or JDB at any time, but they're only required to respond if your DV was sent within 30 days of their first contact with you.

That being said, it doesn't hurt to go ahead and send the DV, if you choose. Do you know which debts are within the SOL for collection in your state? What's the SOL in your state?

Slow your role.

Debt Validation letter is really for when a NEW collection agency comes calling. If these are old accounts, it's too late for that..