Summons, as individual and closed business

:? Received two summons in California. Both served to me. Only the other is for my closed business. Same complaints, account stated and breach of contract. Spoken to two attorneys who advise ignoring closed business summons, and only defending myself. Does that make sense? The biz was a Franchise, which was shut down in Jan, 2009. The cr.card debt was business related debt. If default is obtained against biz. what happens??

I feel I need to answer both. If I do what defense do I offer for closed biz.? Does anyone have a similar story or know what i should do?

I'm being limited in my details because the suing party for OC (claims OC attorney) may be reading this as I speak.

I'm a newbie and apologize if I'm being cryptic!!

Thank you.

Thanks guys.

1.@BTO429.... Bking the biz is not an option. It was a the fictitious name I had to use to operate the biz. So in other words it was the name of the Franchiser. The franchiser and I have parted ways legally in 2009 April. So in reality this fictitious name is non existant.

2. They have left the door open by including for 'DOES', I suppose at discovery.

3. The 'C' corp, that was incorporated and was dba the biz name, was disolved correctly in 2009. I ran it by the book and so piercing corporate veil is not an option for them.

4. @legaleagle...'either way if they get a judgement".......So if I ignore the biz summons, and they get a judgement against the 'biz' then I am responsible? Doesn't it make sense then that i answer the biz summons as well, ditto the individual response? Denial with affirmative defense for both? Or should I go motion for dismissal for the biz, on grounds of "Misnomer/Mistake or both"......see

CAPITAL ONE BANK v. CZEKALA

CAPITAL ONE BANK, N.A., Plaintiff-Appellee, v. Joseph CZEKALA, Defendant-Appellant (Frito Lay and Affiliated Companies, Third-Party Citation Respondent).

No. 3-07-0395.-- February 25, 2008