Being sued by CACH, LLC. Need major help!

First time poster. A little stressed out as I have no legal knowledge whatsoever. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. Who is the named plaintiff in the suit? CACH, LLC

2. What is the name of the law firm handling the suit? (should be listed at the top of the complaint.) Mandarich Law Group

3. How much are you being sued for? $4500

4. Who is the original creditor? (if not the Plaintiff)CITIBANK SOUTH DAKOTA, N.A.

5. How do you know you are being sued? Summons

6. How were you served? (Mail, In person, Notice on door)Summons left on my doorstep, then mailed copy about a week later.

7. Was the service legal as required by your state? Not sure?

8. What was your correspondence (if any) with the people suing you before you think you were being sued? None noted.

9. What state and county do you live in? California (Santa Clara County)

10. When is the last time you paid on this account? (looking to establish if you are outside of the statute of limitations) Less than 2 years.

11. What is the SOL on the debt? To find out: I believe 4 years.

Some more info:

After receiving the summons on Feb. 10th I called Mandarich and worked out a payment plan. I was told I would be receiving paperwork for me to sign (supposedly a contract?). They stated they would cease from going forward with the lawsuit. I made first payment over the phone (stupidly as I now know). Now they are ignoring my requests for a contract stating those claims. I am past the 30 day response time period.

The court websites has two recent entries from 2/27/12. I will do my best to show what they say as I don't understand the lingo.

Cv Decl:Non-Service 2/27/12

Cv Proof Of Svc Compl/Pet/Summons 2/27/12

So....what can I do? I beleive I can still file my answer, but I have no idea how to even do that. I have the Answer paper on my computer in PDF, but I don't know how to fill out most of the boxes and/or if I need to.