Being sued by Midland Funding/Gamache & Myers

I’m new at this, so please bear with me.

1. Who is the named plaintiff in the suit? Midland Funding

2. What is the name of the law firm handling the suit? Gamache & Myers

3. How much are you being sued for? $985.91 plus interest from March 2011 and all court costs

4. Who is the original creditor? (if not the Plaintiff) GE Money Bank

5. How do you know you are being sued? (You were served, right?) served summons by sheriff’s office

6. How were you served? (Mail, In person, Notice on door) in person

7. Was the service legal as required by your state? yes

Process Service Requirements by State - Summons Complaint

8. What was your correspondence (if any) with the people suing you before you think you were being sued? None that I can recall

9. What state and county do you live in? Missouri, McDonald

10. When is the last time you paid on this account? (looking to establish if you are outside of the statute of limitations) I don’t know that I ever have

11. What is the SOL on the debt? To find out: 10 years

12. What is the status of your case? Suit served? Motions filed? You can find this by a) calling the court or B) looking it up online (many states have this information posted - when you find the online court site, search by case number or your name). motions filed

13. Have you disputed the debt with the credit bureaus (both the original creditor and the collection agency?) no

14. Did you request debt validation before the suit was filed? Note: if you haven't sent a debt validation request, don't bother doing this now - it's too late. no