Veteran New to fixing credit

Ok guys I'm a newbie so go easy on me. I have challenged several items on all 3 of my credit reports. I am a veteran and when I was discharged in 2008 transitioning to civilian life was a little difficult and I fell behind on bills and couldn't pay some things. Items were sent as collection items and I am currently a student and still cannot afford to pay these items. So far, experian has sent a letter back to me saying they verified the items.

I am curious as to what my next step should be. I found a flow chart here and was wondering, is my next step a 623 letter to experian as I am still waiting for results from the other agencies. Equifax sent a letter and copy of my credit report saying a re-investigation is ongoing for a particular item and has not responded with the other item on the report and looks like it is still on my report. I am new to the jargon of 623 etc letters. I have already typed out a 623 letter to now contact the original creditors. To my knowledge these are the proper steps to take.

How many accounts have become delinquent and assigned to a CA? Have you received a written letter from a CA yet?

It's hard to give advice based on the information you've provided. 623 may not be the best way for you to proceed depending on the circumstances.

5 total have been sent to a collection agency.

1 is an original creditor

3 are dating back to around 2008.

1 of the 4 though changed the date opened to 2010.

The 5th is a new account that I have no idea about, might be a medical bill bought by a company I really have no clue what it is. I threw a lot of numbers out there that might be hard to follow if you need clarification I can write out with company names I'm not sure how personal information goes here though.

Edited by usnrodrigo