Usury defense revisited

Here’s a completely untried, untested usury defense and/or cause of action I developed that I believe is theoretically sound. I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice—if you need legal advice, consult an attorney. I’m just sharing something I developed that I believe will work in certain circumstances, and I would appreciate feedback. It may be particularly effective if you have an otherwise well-prepared OC to contend with and nothing else to throw at them if they are vulnerable. This is completely dependent upon the choice of law provision.

Here it is:

The ability of national banks under Section 85 of the National Bank Act to extend credit across state lines and export the interest rates of the bank’s state of domicile in preemption of the usury laws of the customer’s state of residence was established by the United States Supreme Court in the Marquette National Bank v. First of Omaha Svc. Corp. -439 U.S. 299 (1978) and is codified in Title 12 of the United States Code.

A BANK, a national bank domiciled in Virginia, operates under the authority of the National Bank Act and the supervision of the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency. The credit card agreement with A BANK contains a choice of law provision providing for Federal and Virginia law.

A BANK, as a bank operating under the authority of the National Bank Act and the under the supervision of the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, has federal preemption from state usury laws, including MY STATE, and this preemption is codified in The Code of Federal Regulation, Title 12 – Banks and Banking, Part 7 –Bank Activities and Operation, Subpart D – Preemption, Section 7.4008 Lending and Section 7.4009 Applicability of state law to national bank operations.

A BANK, by acting under the Federal preemption, is subject to all applicable federal law, including the following:

12 USC Sec. 85

Title 12 – Banks and Banking

Chapter 2 – National Banks