Being sued in Washington State

I see a lot of confusion regarding Washington State. I am not a lawyer, if you need legal advice, find an attorney. Based on my experience and understanding, however, I wanted to explain some key differences between WA state and other states:

A lawsuit can be, and usually is, commenced prior to filing the case. WA has pocket service--the summons and complaint will usually not have a case number assigned. This is not some collector trick; assume it's a valid suit and conduct yourself accordingly.

Service is in person, or by publication.

WAlawhelp has a great resource showing how to answer a debt lawsuit.

If you do nothing, the plaintiff will file the suit with the court and get a default. If you show up at the court house to "answer" without a proper, legal answer on paper, they will get a default.

A legal answer does not include: I lost my job, I'm getting divorced, the dog ate my money.

If you file a Notice of Appearance, they cannot get a default--even if you don't answer. They would have to file an MSJ and notify you when the hearing is set. In theory, you would still have time to answer. (My understanding--again, I'm not a lawyer). I certainly wouldn't think filing just a Notice of Appearance is a good idea, but I would include one with my answer.

When you file your answer, be aware: It is my understanding that you need to plead standing, or rather, lack of standing and validity of assignment affirmatively--they have a presumption of validity. Again, I'm not a lawyer, but that is my understanding. Since standing and chain of custody are at the heart of JDB cases, don't give it away from the get go.

BTW, it is always a good idea to go check the WA Secretary of States website to make sure they're registered in Washington. Check for business licenses and collection agency licenses.