Premitive1

Being sued, pretrial conference 6/5, please advise

I am brand new to these forums. I appreciate that there are many resources available on this forum that will be of use to me, and i promise that during the course of this case I will continue reading these sources, however I would also appreciate suggestions rendered specifically for my case.

There's a lot of work ahead of me, mostly at this point i'd just like some direction on what to worry about first. I've read a few articles and have some ideas, but i'm no lawyer :/

Pretrial conference set for June 5,

1. Who is the named plaintiff in the suit?

Equable Ascent Financial, LLC f/k/a Hilco Receivables, LLC

As asigness of Chase Bank USA, N.A (WAMU)

c/o Bakkalapulo Law Firm

2. What is the name of the law firm handling the suit? (should be listed at the top of the complaint.)

Bakkalapulo Law Firm

3. How much are you being sued for?

$4,494.80, plus pre-judgment interest, and costs of this suit

4. Who is the original creditor? (if not the Plaintiff)

Chase

5. How do you know you are being sued? (You were served, right?)

I received a Summons: notice to appear for pretrial conference

6. How were you served? (Mail, In person, Notice on door)

letter served to my mother

7. Was the service legal as required by your state?

yes

8. What was your correspondence (if any) with the people suing you before you think you were being sued?

The lawyer, Bakkalapulo called me various times. At the time I was unemployed, and he did warn me he would file suit

9. What state and county do you live in?

Miami-County, Florida

10. When is the last time you paid on this account? (looking to establish if you are outside of the statute of limitations)

2/17/2009

11. What is the SOL on the debt?

5 years

12. What is the status of your case?

I do not know, and will certainly be looking in to this

13. Have you disputed the debt with the credit bureaus (both the original creditor and the collection agency?)

no