Sign in to follow this  
Eiffel0925

WHAT NOW?

I am a newbie here trying to fix both my husband's and my credit. We are in our late twenties, and ruined our credit as soon as we were allowed to. Now we are wanting to buy a house, and regret everything we have done. Thanks to this forum we have learned so much, and took action a few weeks ago. I pulled our credit, and sent dispute letters to the credit bureaus for a few of the trade lines on our credit report. So far this is the first response we have received. The below is from MCM on my husband's Chase Bank credit card.

"The purpose of this letter is to request your assistance so that we may reach a quick resolution to your dispute.

As part of our investigation of your dispute, it would be helpful to have a copy of any documentation you may have that supports your dispute. In the interim, we have requested that the three major consumer credit reporting agencies change the status of this account to "Disputed".

Examples of such documentation include the following:

1.PIF or SIF proof

2.Fraud

3.Balance discrepancy

4.Death of consumer owing the debt."

Please help me! I don't know how to proceed from here.

Thanks!

Another letter...

"Per the FDCPA, we are not required to provide any information to assist with your 'investigation'. As such, I refuse to provide the information Midland seeks and, may discuss your request with an attorney, as this appears to be a violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act."

What they want you to do is provide information - that will later be uses against you when they sue.

Another letter...

"Per the FDCPA, we are not required to provide any information to assist with your 'investigation'. As such, I refuse to provide the information Midland seeks and, may discuss your request with an attorney, as this appears to be a violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act."