Sign in to follow this  
Saltmines

Worth it to hire a lawyer?

So I have an upcoming MSC (9/5) w/Pride Acquisitions LLC (OC: Chase) and am starting to doubt my ability to handle this in pro se. Obviously I don't have piles of money to give to a debt defense atty, but I'd rather spend a little and do this right rather than screw it up and end up with a judgment.

I wondered if any of the forum experts could offer their thoughts/opinions on this...thanks in advance!

99% of lawyers don't want credit card cases, there is no money in them and they fear they won't get paid. Most of them never defended one and don't know how, all they'll do is take your money and tell you to settle. There are exceptions, but they are rare.

The lawyers I've spoken to will charge you based on the total sum of the lawsuit. In most cases, the attorney will most likely try to negotiate with the plaintiff instead of completely having your case thrown out. They will pretty much file the same documents you can do yourself (e.g. discovery, BOP, motions, etc.)

I've felt the same way you did but decided to stick to my guns and have faith in the information gathered in this forum and it paid off. I actually went as far as trying to acquire an attorney just to go the actual trial instead of me but the cost was the same as if he would of handled the case since the very beginning.

These CA will push you until the end trying to intimidate and if you follow the advise of what's in the forum, you might receive an overnight fedex letter from the plaintiff stating a request to dismiss the lawsuit with/without prejudice, just like in my case.

99% of lawyers don't want credit card cases, there is no money in them and they fear they won't get paid. Most of them never defended one and don't know how, all they'll do is take your money and tell you to settle. There are exceptions, but they are rare.