chingwah

Settling debt you've left behind in the U.S.?

Hello,

I'd be incredibly grateful to anyone could either answer this or point me towards a thread that will do so.

I've just moved back to the UK after a divorce with both my young children, and I've left behind around $20K in credit card debt in New York.

Up until now (arrived here June 1, it's now Aug 1) I've been making the minimum payments, but can't keep it up because of expenses here.

I still hold a job that's based in the US - I work as an graphic designer (independent contractor). That paycheck still gets deposited into a US bank once a month (Chase) and I then wire it over here.

Those are the basics of my circumstances - trying to keep it as concise as possible - my question is:

Does anyone know much about how it works when trying to settle debt from abroad - more specifically, the UK? I've been reading and it seems doable. I don't have any plans to move back there as we are here with my aging mother, enjoying the National Health (I was uninsured for years) and having family around (we were on our own in the US completely for about 5 years, and it was miserable)

From what I gather I need to close my US bank account and deposit my checks here.

Is it more likely that the creditors will arrange low settlements with me given that I am out of the country and it would be incredibly costly for them to chase me up, or am I mistaken there?

Thanks very much to anyone that can share their thoughts.

Frankie

Guest usctrojanalum

To be honest if you never plan on coming back to the US I wouldnt settle off anything. That being said, definitely get rid of the US Bank account.