Sign in to follow this  
jjohns39

Need help with first step. DV or what?

Ok I desperately need some direction here. I am really new at this and at this point I have done so much reading that I am just overwhelmed. One moment I have a plan of action, the next I'm completely confused.

My situation is I have several old accounts; most of which are 6 to almost 7 years old. I am in the process of trying to clean up my credit in order to buy a home but I need to address these negative accounts before getting a loan. I have a couple of charged off accounts as well as some medical bills. All of which are from 2005-2006. I have researched Credit counseling and credit consolidation, and from what I have read thus far it looks as though I should avoid them all together and work on this myself. That brings me to where I am now. I have been reading all the info I can on this site and I just need some help on what step to take first. I live In CA and on 90% of my negative accounts they have already gone well past the SOL. I also understand that just because they have past SOL doesn't mean that they will be taken off of my report. So that is my question to you all. Is there a way to get these negative accounts taken off of my report? I have read about the "goodwill Letter" and DV and I am hoping that there is something that I can do to get these accounts removed from my report. Would sending out either of these letters help at all?

They come off your report about seven years after first default (when you missed your payment). If they are out of statute, you know that for a fact, and your realize you have an absolute defense if sued, then you can't really screw this up.

As long as you don't make a payment to restart the statute of limitations and every statement starts with, while I dispute this alleged account and debt in their entirety, and them whatever, you can't mess this up.