Getting rid of judgments after a bankruptcy

LuckyLucy23

I am a real estate agent and I am trying to work with a seller who wants to sell his home. The title company said they could not give clear title as he had too many judgments. He has about 6 of them which add up to over $90,000. From what I understand, in Florida, a judgment is an automatic lien against any real estate he owns. He is not looking to get any money back, he just wanted to avoid a foreclosure so he was trying to do a short sale.

Anyway, the title company said he should see a bankruptcy attorney and he did. He ended up filing bankruptcy and now that the bankruptcy has been discharged he is being told the judgments are still there?

He is now calling the companies trying to negotiate with them but they will not talk to him because of the bankruptcy. He went back to his attorney who said he can't help him anymore. The attorney said that judgments do not go away after a bankruptcy but they can't collect on the judgment either.

When does the judgment go away and is there anything he can do to get rid of them? This does not make any sense . . . why file bankruptcy if he still has judgments to deal with?

If he filed BK solely to avoid the Judgements...that's a no-no. As he found out, Judgements don't go away after Bankruptcy. He got, and acted on, bad advice.

Judgements being attached to the home eh? So really, what's happening is either he needs to pay them off himself, or the new buyer can buy the house with teh liens attached...

After BK most if not all judgements are voided per federal Law.

Now knowing these mortgage shyster's I imagine they try to leave them as it's too much trouble to do it themselves.

Never know they just might collect something

Therefore I imagine an attorney could get them comply fully with the law.