MuteDebt

First Foreclosure notice

HI

I have a friend of whom got his first foreclosure notice. What can he do to stop this if any? Please help I know nothing about this. I'm in another forum with my own problems. He doesn't have internet. Thanks for any help.

I am not familiar with CA laws on foreclosure, but I can give some insight because I have been fighting against Big name OC for almost 3 years (pro se). I cost OC more in legal fees than the home is probably worth ! They got two law firms against me (one in-house another debt collector). It must have cost them at least $100K if not more.

I did revenge b/c OC would not work with me, finally last week a truce letter  came in the mail, now it's beneficial for me to work with OC.

If your friend can work out loan modification then do it HAMP is one of them.

If he has lost his job these government  organizations will work with him and creditor on a deal if he wants to keep his home.

Your friend can short sale/ or do cash for keys.

Does he have any equity ?

Tell him don't stress, when I got sued in 2010 there was not much help for home owners,now there are plenty of government help, but please be careful to use only the entities  who are authorized not some ad in news paper or some crook (one called me on behalf of investors , I said to him and I am carolyn Kennedy, he hung up).

Some resources to look into (with item 1 a top priority)

1.  HUD-approved counselors  (search online)---NACA included --- call them ASAP.

2.  Check on your state's foreclosure mediation.

3.  Foreclosurelegalassistance.org

Have seen loans <359K may qualify for government programs.  HUD - counselors have all this info.  They are free-service.

Hope this helps