Would it be possible to get a mortgage with these circumstances????

cheyenne52883

I like to daydream and look for houses knowing that I am not prepared to buy. Today, this may have gotten me in trouble.

There is an ADORABLE house for a mere $45,000. We can get together a downpayment of about 5% but did not intend on buying soon so that is about all we can come up with. I have decent credit (652 according to Credit Karma - I know it's not accurate) with NO negatives. My husband is 623 (also from Credit Karma) with several OLD (all past SOL) negatives. We make decent money ($81k according to W2 last year) and have a new 401k with about $2,700 in it.

Do you think it is even worth trying to qualify for a loan? If so, should we try a FHA or a traditional?

Cheyenne, I am an ex-mortgage broker.  Did it for 10 years.  Most lenders today require a minimum 640 middle credit score for FHA approval - for both applicants.  If you need both you & your husband's income to qualify, then the lender will look at the 3 credit scores for both of you.  The lender will use the lower "middle" score for both of you to see if you qualify.  For example, assume your scores from Equifax, Trans Union and Experian are 652, 660, and 624 .....  and your husband has a 623, 635, and a 680.  In such a case, you will not qualify for a joint mortgage because your husband's middle score is 635.  If you could afford the mortgage loan using just your income and left your husband off the loan, then your scores alone would make the cut since your middle score is 652.  FYI, your score must remain at the minimum threshold throughout the loan application process.  The lender will pull your credit again a few days before closing.  If your score drops to below what's required, you will lose your approval.