Getting a charge off removed

Chip39

Hey guys, I'm a newbie so please don't kick me too hard if i am doing this wrong.

A few years ago (2010) i had a credit card with home depot,I got sick,lost my job yada yada yada..Fast forward to today and i am trying to repair my credit.

This entry shows as a charge off/profit loss write off on my credit report..I've read about the pay to delete and i am willing to do that but i got in touch with home depot who put me in touch with citibank as the card was through them.

Citibank tells me it went to a collection agency which i already knew because of the settlement offer they sent to me.

So my question is,If i pay the collection agency can they delete or change the status of the home depot/citbank entry or would i just be wasting my time and money?

I would like the entry changed to paid as agreed or just deleted.

No, a CA cannot delete information on a CR that was not provided by them.  All tradelines (billions and billions of them) in the CRA database have a link to the furnisher's account.  The CA may have an agreement with the OC to feed CR info through them.  Or the OC may have given the CA their CRA credentials to do it directly, but even there it is still technically being done in the name of the OC.  The CA may have the means to get it done.  Or they may just not bother.

Since there would be two parties involved in any agreement to remove a tradeline, you should have both parties sign any settlement.  If the deal falls through, it could be either party refusing to carry out what they agreed to.  So as long as the deal involves the tradeline by Citi, whether deleting it or just marking paid as agreed, you need the signature of an officer of Citi for your legal protection.

Thanks for the help Torden,

What i got from the nice Indian lady at Citibank was that it is out of their hands and not their problem anymore.