TexanNCali

Received a phone call from Midland Credit Management

This morning I received a phone call from Midland Credit Management regarding a debt from T Mobile. I also noticed a collection from MCM on my CR a few months ago. I have no knowledge of the debt but wanted to wait until the SOL is up this summer before disputing or taking any action. I have a few other negatives that I've been working on first. I have been reading this forum and realize that MCM is sue happy but also a violator. My question is how do I handle this?

Since they just contacted me via phone, for the first time, are they required to respond if I DV them? I did not admit the debt was mine and instructed the collector to stop calling and to send any further correspondence through the mail. They are calling my business, cell phone. I have not received a debt validation letter from this company. The collector said she would send one but I don’t think they have my correct address. I refused to supply them with any information. I live in CA but used to live in TX. I will continue to read through this forum to see if I can come up with the best solution. However, I wanted to ask for advice while I continue to research.

How do you know when the SOL is up?  Was it from the date on the CR or did MCM tell you over the phone.

They are require to send you a dunning letter within five days with the statement that you can send them a DV within 30 days.

Send all communication to them that may trigger any legal obligations or rights, or which dates are important, via CMRRR.  If in doubt, send via CMRRR.

Wait for 5 days past the first phone call to see if they send the first communication letter before sending a DV.  That way you know if they have committed their first violation.