Dunned at my parents' house, SOL expired. How to proceed?

McSpam

Hi,

My parents got a letter addressed to me from NCO Financial. It's a 30-day notice to dispute a credit card debt they're collecting.

The last payment on the debt was 6.5 years ago, and I have lived in the same state that entire time. My state is a six-year statute of limitations state, and so is my parents'. But the fact is I haven't lived at their house for over ten years.

My mom, God bless her, opened the letter without consulting me. So it's too late for them to return it to sender. Now I want to send NCO a letter telling them that I'm a Washington resident and have been for over six years, and that the SOL here is six years. My questions at this point:

1. Is that what I should do?

2. Do I send it in a validation request, or a C&D? As of now, I've drafted a C&D with a polite FDCPA threat.

3. If I send a validation request, I obviously have to give them my current mailing address, so they can respond to it. But if I send a C&D, need I bother giving one? You obviously don't give your address to a CA if you don't have to. On the other hand, it would be a huge problem for me if NCO ignored the SOL, or if someone posted a bogus payment on my behalf to toll the debt, and they ended up serving lawsuit papers at my parents' house thousands of miles away. If that has to happen, I'd rather divert them to me here.

Thanks.

Never avoid a dunning letter, even if it's sent to the wrong address. If you do, you will get sewer service and a default judgment that will be hard to over turn. Be thankful she opened it. But, advise her to NEVER pay it or pay on the debt as it WILL restart the SOL.

They may try to call them and use scare tactics to make them pay it for you, such as your going to jail, or to keep you from being arrested they need to pay it.