Gibson

Difference between an appraiser and an inspector

So here's the scoop - tried refinancing with a local credit union. Passed all the credit checks, locked in at a nice low rate and everything was going smooth until the appraiser showed up.

The appraiser took no less than 20 pictures and submitted them to the bank. The bank called me concerned about MANY items they saw that needed repair.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm really handy around my house, having rebuilt my kitchen, installed my own AC system (I'm a contractor), waterproofed the basement - so I figured I was in great shape. I know there are some issues I was in the middle of taking care of and I didn't feel they would be a problem, since it was a simple appraisal, not an inspection.

Boy was I wrong. They told me there are 6 items that needed repairs/inspections before anything can close with the loan.

1. There is a settlement crack on the exterior - It's been waterproofed repaired in the basement, but on the outside its noticeable (my fault for not repairing that issue, even though its not a problem). Bank wants a certified structural engineer to come out. Cost is $500.

2. A simple receptacle cover missing from a paint job we did in a bedroom. Cover must be installed by a licensed electrician with paperwork to prove. Same thing with a loose light fixture on the outside of the house.

3. SIdewalk is raised due to a tree root. This was going to be a summer project anyway, but now I need licensed professional contractor to tear the block out and repave, and must be inspected by an engineer AGAIN when completed.

4. I was in the middle of installing a new ceiling fan and had a hole in the ceiling where I was going to put the fan. You guessed it, pictures were taken and hole must either be covered over or if a fan is installed, must be done by a licensed electrical contractor. With paperwork.

All this must be done within 30 days, AND I have to pay for a re-appraisal, another $200.