cjayramone

Need help, being sued by Hunt and Henriques. Should I file with JAMS?

Hello, I'm being sued by Hunt and Henriques for about 2,600.  The original company was HSBC and the original debt was about 1,900. I have 30 days to report back to the court. Should I try to file for arbitrations through JAMS or is there another option that I should look into? The account will be about 4 years old next year. Any help will be most appreciated. I'm a newbie here.

Experience with H&H - filed General Denial Answer, issued Demand for Bill of Particulars, then CCP96 --- ASTMedic's thread and SkippyB (Sandra Pacheco's case - San Mateo) as my resources to prepare for trial.  Both cases were dropped.

You can easily win this -- you are in the right place to get advice...

• Like 1

You ask me and I say don't do arbitration because you waive too many rights and you can beat a junk debt buyer easily in court, plus you have strict rules of procedure that have to be followed along with an appeals process.   I can direct you to numerous success stories using court and arbitration.  

You ask Linda7 (she posts a ton on arb) and she will tell you all the advantages to taking them to JAMS and can direct you to numerous success stories using arbitration and not court.

And guess who is right?  We both are.   I'm 100% with what I'd tell you and so is she.   So you have to make that decision for yourself.  

You could not pay me to go the arb route and keep me out of a courtroom and those that go arb will tell you how wonderful it is not dealing with the courts or going to court.    Again, we are both 100% right.  

Read carefully about both and then decide what is best for you.    A ton of the time they drop a case when arb is filed but they also do the same when an answer to a lawsuit is filed.   Then sometimes you run into ones that fight you tooth and nail and don't care if it's arb or court.